We noticed that you are based in the US - click here to visit our US website US 

Macs Adventure Reviews, Feedback, and Photos!

We always ask for trip reviews, which can be seen on our tour pages, and are very useful to let future travellers know what to expect. Just click on the review tab on any tour description. Service reviews are available on Feefo, the global, and completely independent feedback engine, or you can browse at some #MacsMoment photo entries to understand a bit more about what makes an active adventure great.

  • Andrew Sturman 05/12/2019
    Each aspect was organised well once the final bookings were made, that is, accommodation, baggage transfer and contacts in Italy for assistance
  • Anonymous 01/12/2019
    Very good service. Just to improve even more, it would be good to have a choice about accommodation. Granted that sometimes there are no options, but if there are, then it would be good to say 'basic' or luxury' to guide the bookers.
  • Anita Mary Simon 18/11/2019
    The directions were outstanding (except for one minor error). The accommodations were superb. Each night was a different experience and really added to the feel of being in old-world Italy with modern conveniences. The baggage was taken care of in an efficient manner. It was always waiting for us at the next stop.
  • Anonymous 17/11/2019
    This was our 4th MacS Adventures trip. Other trips were 5 star experiences. This was disappointing for several reasons. First, Gran Canaria experienced devastating fires a few months ago. As a result, 2 of the original scheduled hikes were not passable. The substitute hikes were very disappointing. We realize that the fires were out of the control of Macs Adventures, we believe they could have provided better alternatives. Additionally the 1st and last accommodation were disappointing. While the facilities were adequate, it was often hard to find any staff to answer questions. Additionally, the dinner at the first accommodation was nearly inedible. On the positive side, the route notes were excellent and the drivers friendly and accommodating. We still are big fans of Macs Adventures, but would not recommend this trip.
  • Sarah Salt 17/11/2019
    Great holiday, well coordinated and structured and good instructions for self guided walks.
  • Lawrence Smith 16/11/2019
    This was our fourth trip with Macs Adventures and we were very happy with their service and overall attention to detail. We spent 7 days walking in Portugal in the Sintra coastal area. It was challenging in part due to some wet weather. Macs used a Portuguese guiding agency to provide orientation and GPS device to help us navigate the area. Overall the accommodations were very good. We wouldn't hesitate to use Macs again on a walking trip.
  • Alison 16/11/2019
    We stayed in lovely small "hotels" in four villages. The route notes were helpful for all our walks. We also had GPS for backup. On the unscheduled day in Montejaque, we visited the Cueva de la Pileta that was very interesting and well worth the visit. The driver, who was arranged by Macs Adventure, was excellent. He helped with transfers at the start and then the finish of our holiday.
  • Anonymous 14/11/2019
    Excellent walking holiday. Exceptional walking routes & great accomodation.
  • Anonymous 13/11/2019
    I'm a long time, multi-year user of Mac's. They are superb, and their service was impeccable. They sort out problems and are incredibly helpful. It was the Camino itself which was not quite as advertised, and here Mac's has to take some responsibility for the way it's presented. Unlike the Camino Frances, the Portuguese Coastal Way is almost entirely urban, with very little sense of being a spiritual journey. Miles of cobblestones, walking through the backs of villages - even the supposed countryside part is never out of sight of houses and civilization. The walk from Baiona to Vigo, 19 1/2 miles, was particularly awful, ending with 4 miles of trundling through a graffiti-laden, ugly modern city. If you want the real thing, walk the Frances, or perhaps try the more historic Portuguese route that doesn't go along the coast. But we love Mac's.
  • Annie Barrell 13/11/2019
    Wonderful B&Bs, very good guide book and map, efficient luggage service....what more could we ask?
  • Anonymous 13/11/2019
    Macs was fantastic. Well organized and the trip went as advertised. Our route had few options in accommodations, and some were not great, but Macs didn't have alternatives and we were lucky to have the rooms we received (other travelers could not find rooms). This was our 6th Macs Adventure, and we're planning more.
  • Anonymous 12/11/2019
    Well organized and reliable - could have had a more personal touch.
  • Tony Nilsson 12/11/2019
    All bookings and reservations were exactly as set out. All transfers well arranged and on time. Overall service was considered first class
  • Debra Beebee 12/11/2019
    Excellent. From communications and responses to requests to hotels and maps.
  • Thomas Elliott 12/11/2019
    Very responsive. Quick to return answers. Friendly. Knowledgeable. Reasonable prices. Easy to navigate website. Excellent trip descriptions with much detail.
  • Anonymous 12/11/2019
    Well planned, well supported trip
  • Peter Weinman 12/11/2019
    Everything went exactly as planned, no snafus. Very nice accommodations and good walking directions.
  • L.Yanke 12/11/2019
    Very expensive with inferior customer service. We are experienced European hikers and found Macs Adventures to be underwhelming in every area.... we would not recommend them. There are much better hiking tour companies than Macs.
  • Anonymous 12/11/2019
    Awesome trip, great experience, and really responsive team. Would book again.
  • James Elliott 12/11/2019
    Everything went according to plan . Accommodations were excellent..The information packet was especially helpful.

OVERALL SCORE

4.6
User1451 total
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
For Us, It's All About Your Experience
Signature

Erin Pattie - Customer Experience & Sales Manager

"For us, the best part about creating great adventures is hearing all about them afterwards. Your feedback is so important as it allows us to better understand the trips from your perspective, to continuously improve our service and to give other travellers a real flavour for the itineraries."

"Most importantly of all, it allows us to share in the experience with you, our customers. So thank you all and please continue to share your thoughts, ideas, pictures and stories with us!

about images
about images

Erin Pattie - Customer Experience & Sales Manager