We noticed that you are based in the United States - click here to visit our USA website. US 

Macs Adventure Reviews, Feedback, and Photos!

We always ask for trip reviews, which can be seen on our tour pages, and are very useful to let future travellers know what to expect. Just click on the review tab on any tour description. Service reviews are available on Feefo, the global, and completely independent feedback engine, or you can browse at some #MacsMoment photo entries to understand a bit more about what makes an active adventure great.

  • Anonymous 12/01/2023
    Thank you. Excellent and well organized trip. Professional and caring staff. Amazing region in France. Very good bikes.
  • Dr. Graham Gauld 22/12/2022
    The holiday was well organised and had good back-up in terms of maps and route guidance. It would be good if details of some routes were updated daily/weekly to take into account walkers feedback and changing local conditions
  • Anonymous 18/12/2022
    I realize it was a busy year but to take days to return emails and phone calls is not acceptable. To also tell us you can book our trip then inform me weeks later that you can book the trip except for the first night and we would have to find our own accommodation that you could not contact any other accommodation. On the trip The Sun Inn in Warkworth , the room was fine except we had no cold running water for the entire two days and no internet in the rooms. The manager kept saying we’ll get to it. The Bluebell Inn in Belford, there was mold in the bathroom, torn wallpaper and little hot water. We were freezing in the dining room for dinner but were told sorry we can’t turn the heat on until the end of September. A very very tired hotel. The app was helpful but not always accurate. The book we were given was quite outdated and definitely not accurate and in some cases misleading.. A detailed map of the hike would have been useful as well as indications that you could get lunch in the route or that you needed to pick up a sandwich before starting. To have luggage ready by 9 is fine but then we had to sit and wait until 9:30 for a taxi was a waste of time. We are going on another hike this year but will use another company.
  • Mr Graham Egan 16/12/2022
    The Best of New Zealand trip was comprehensive and very well organised. It was an excellent way to see New Zealand. Emergency out of hours contact was available.
  • Anonymous 15/12/2022
    Provided excellent service and advice. We have done many self-guided cycling tours and know what makes a great trip. This trip more than met our expectations with excellent accommodation and varied route. The supplied notes and GPS tracks made navigation very easy.
  • Anonymous 15/12/2022
    This was a trip that had been postponed due to COVID. In rescheduling it, I had tried to reschedule early (9 months in advance) but was told too early, then when I tried again, it was a different rep and they did not respond in a timely fashion and as a consequence the accommodations that we requested were not available. The trip was described as moderate hiking. This trip was not moderate hiking. The first day of hiking--we were met by the guide and instead of an orientation type of hike, we immediately got out of the transport and started on a 11 mile hike with a 3,000 foot elevation gain and that doesn't include the time that I spent on a mule because the terrain was steep or my legs just gave out. Our trip did not start out well because we were not met at the airport. We waited over an hour and finally hired a taxi to take us to the Riad. The Riad was OK, it definitely did not seem as if it was an upgrade which had been promised. One person in our group had cockroaches in her room and a shower that kept flooding the room. The final hotel was wonderful and they went out of their way to provide an excellent experience (Kasbah du Toubkal). We had been told that we could only spend one night at this property and have to move to another property (because reservations had been slow to be made as noted earlier). They were able to find us a room so that we did not have to move---this may have been due to they were the ones that forgot to pick us up at the airport. The food throughout the trip was excellent. People in Morocco were welcoming and lovely. The High Atlas Mountains were a beautiful and rugged landscape which helped partially make up for the downsides of this trip.
  • Mr Frank Stevenson 15/12/2022
    Lots of trips to choose from……easy to follow hiking instructions and map app…excellent customer service….great value….we have traveled extensively with B&R and Backroads and now much prefer Macs
  • Mrs Lucy King 15/12/2022
    The Cotopaxi region is magical and our guide, Julio, was superb. He loved the area and was so enthusiastic about showing it to us. He got himself, and us, up very early so that we could be the first of the day to top of the Cotopaxi Snowline...very special. He took us to Pasochoa Peak and we were the first of the day to summit that as well. He was very knowledgable of the birdlife, the wildlife and the area's history. He was absolutely terrific!
  • Mrs Lucy King 15/12/2022
    The guide services were top notch. From arrival at the Quito airport to the Amazon Rainforest to the city tour and back to the airport the guides were A+. They were always at least 15 minutes early and so polite and kind.
  • Anonymous 15/12/2022
    Amazing experience! This was my first Macs adventure and definitely NOT my last!
  • Mr William Ritchie 15/12/2022
    Great variety of active holidays. Walking holidays which range from gentle stroll's to challenging adventures.
  • Anonymous 01/12/2022
    Overall worked well. Turn by turn instructions were sometimes way off but following the GPS blue line worked well. Lodging was decent but not exemplary.
  • Anonymous 27/11/2022
    I understand the challenges due to Covid but it often took multiple phone calls and emails to receive a response to my inquiries about our Queen Charlotte Track trip and then it would take several weeks to get an answer to my question. I ended up going directly to the company you outsourced to (Wilderness Guides) as they would reply within 24 hours. Also, most of the information provided by Mac’s was wrong! Thank goodness for Wilderness Guides. You should tell your prop,e if they don’t know the answer to a question, don’t guess!
  • Mr Iain McIndoe 22/11/2022
    Overall a good holiday - maps/routes and accommodation were great, but you didn't book all the transfers despite repeated chasing from me and in the end I had to arrange one transfer myself and have multiple phone calls to you from Malta to get the others sorted.
  • Anonymous 20/11/2022
    The accommodations along our route were great! The Portuguese Travel partners were very helpful, knowledgeable and patient. Overall we had a wonderful trip. The only hesitation I have in giving the highest rating is due to the inadequate communication between us. We had a rather complicated booking, in that we were not all traveling together. We did not receive the Macs packet until our last night at the end of the trip upon our return to Porto. Fortunately the Portugal Nature Trails personnel were able to round us up and held a briefing, the apps were installed on devices and instructions given, you kindly altered some travel options, but we were unaware of them until our briefing in Porto, unfortunately no paper schedule was provided and the on-line instructions did not include specifics. Another concern is that the "moderate" rating for the walk. While the distances were not long, the walking and the route were often challenging. All that said, it was beautiful, the people were so kind and friendly, and we are so glad we had this adventure.
  • Ron Abela 19/11/2022
    Everything went like clockwork, everything happened when it should have. The accommodation was as good as the location allowed. The backup literature and map were very helpful.
  • Anonymous 19/10/2022
    Everything went as planned except for a couple of schedule glitches which were easily remedied through direct calls to providers or your Glasgow office. I had tried to solve two of the schedule issues but was not able to get the issues resolved through the personnel in the Colorado office. I did four trips in Scotland and am pleased that all went beautifully--luggage transfers, accommodations, pre-arranged programs. You deserve the five stars for how smoothly all four programs went.
  • Anonymous 19/10/2022
    Good service, excellent accommodation, good value for money
  • Ms Leslie Shea 19/10/2022
    Excellent choices of lodging. Coordination of baggage and lodging, an impossible task, was great Phone, online availability was very good.
  • Dulcie Charles 19/10/2022
    Yes I would book again and recommend them

OVERALL SCORE

4.5
User1100 total
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
For Us, It's All About Your Experience
Signature

Erin Pattie - Customer Experience & Sales Manager

"For us, the best part about creating great adventures is hearing all about them afterwards. Your feedback is so important as it allows us to better understand the trips from your perspective, to continuously improve our service and to give other travellers a real flavour for the itineraries."

"Most importantly of all, it allows us to share in the experience with you, our customers. So thank you all and please continue to share your thoughts, ideas, pictures and stories with us!

Erin Pattie - Customer Experience & Sales Manager

Currency:
£ - GBP - Pound
Country/Region name:
UKUK