Peace of Mind Booking Guarantee

 

Macs Adventure Reviews, Feedback, and Photos!

We always ask for feedback which can be found on our tour pages to help you decide which tour to choose and what to expect. Service reviews are also available on Feefo, the global and independent feedback engine.

Reviews & Feedback

"For us, the best part about creating great adventures is hearing all about them afterwards. Your feedback is so important as it allows us to better understand the trips from your perspective, to continuously improve our service and to give other travelers a taste of the itineraries. Most importantly, it allows us to share the experience with you, our customers, so thank you all and please continue to share your thoughts, ideas, pictures and stories with us!"

Erin Pattie - Customer Experience Manager

  • Anonymous 25/09/2022
    Excellent organisation of the tour, Minor complaint was that I had to chase for the train tickets, however Macs Adventure sorted the problem out and I was able to relax and enjoy the holiday. A well thought out holiday experience, with plenty of options. Would suggest as an improvement that more information on travel could be provided. For instance it was unclear in Leukerbad that we had to get a bus to Leuk, but still included in the STP. Also there was no information that we couldn't use the STP to get to Eigergletscher and were detrained at Wengen which led to an hours delay. Overall though a wonderful trip across Switzerland.
  • Anonymous 25/09/2022
    We loved everything about the trip.
  • Mr Casey Shobe 25/09/2022
    We had a great experience with Macs. The booking and preparation process was smooth and easy, and the actual trip went brilliantly. We had excellent accommodations and the luggage transfer went very well. I can't think of a thing that went poorly.
  • Mrs Anne Sylvie Truffer 25/09/2022
    L'équipe a été à l'écoute de nos besoins et nos désirs et y a répondu. Le délai de réponse était parfois un peu long par email, mais au final l'organisation était parfaite.
  • Anonymous 24/09/2022
    We spoke with Lauren before our adventure on the KAT trail and then called one time while we were on our adventure to find out about the guest passes we were to receive. MacAdventures returned our call immediately and we had our guest passes the very next morning. We stayed in four different hotels and they were all wonderful. Only the last one didn't have a balcony. They were all in great locations and the breakfasts out of this world. We also had three dinners included which were more than we could eat and very good. The trip was rated moderate but when we downloaded it on our app it was moderate to strenuous and was more difficult than I had anticipated. Thank goodness for gondolas and ski lifts. It would have been helpful if we had been given the option in our directions for using the gondolas to go up rather than just down. And we had trouble finding the beginning of several trails. The first day it would have been good to have it spelled out that we needed to take the gondola to the middle station. We thought we had to walk to middle station. Having the map on our app was really a life saver a couple times.
  • Mr Michael McDonell 24/09/2022
    The hotels and meals were great. The bag transfer service was as well.
  • Mr John Sheldon 23/09/2022
    To start with, their App is buggy for Android. Even after downloading the map(s) it wants to talk to the mother ship, thus blocking the map(s) from loading. Then some of the maps are just BAD. For example, instead of loading the maps for a given trip with proper starting and ending points, you get the maps for the trip with the most number of days / stages / lowest distance. So you may find yourself walking back up hill when you didn't need to. Other times the stage end is more than a half mile away from the supposed trail. My BIGGEST complaint is the sadistic / clueless booking agents who never walked these routes. I found myself on the hardest day adding two miles to account for the lodgings they placed me. Another time the lodgings were a full net two miles away, up and down hill. After a long day of difficulty, who wants to be kicked in the head like that?
  • Mr Stephen Isted 23/09/2022
    Everything went exactly as planned. My luggage was always delivered before I arrived. The accomadation was good. All in all a worry free trip.
  • Anonymous 23/09/2022
    The website is excellent. It is clear and attractive, and well organized. The places we stayed--very different--both worked out well for us. Obviously, the English Lake District is a gem, and we loved walking in it, especially after first visiting the Kentmere home of our great grandparents and having tea with its current owners. I would say that the digital maps could be better. Once or twice we had real trouble sorting out what route was intended. In one place, the trail had largely been destroyed by erosion, and there was substantial work underway to repair it. This was on a particularly steep downhill climb near the end of our program, on the last day. You should probably reroute people away from that area. We found it dangerous and difficult.
  • Anonymous 23/09/2022
    Had a wonderful time, made better with beautiful weather. Challenging but beautiful walk/hike and all well explained and organised. Just two concerns to mention… The app won’t work if you are out of network range, even if you have turned on the download offline feature. Thankfully I manually saved the maps and used a GPX tracker app, because it was needed. Also, the final days accommodation wasn’t too good… the place was like a poor outdated hostel… I’d recommend another place to stay.
  • Anonymous 23/09/2022
    The entire adventure from pre booking to finish was excellent. The booking agents were knowledgeable, had good communication skills, were easy to work with and understood our needs.
  • Mr Richard Myers 23/09/2022
    Every was as it was supposed to be. Had no difficulties with the accommodation and directions were great.
  • Anonymous 23/09/2022
    If you only look for some service to arrange your accommodation for trekking TMB and luggage transfer, MacsAdventure is the one you can go with
  • Anonymous 23/09/2022
    We enjoyed our Highlights of Scotland trip. Thank you Macs Adventure Tours for setting up a wonderful itinerary and spots to stay. Directions were a bit complicated at times, as we couldn’t always find the road names indicated. Warning to others, due to post Covid staff shortages, many tours were filled up weeks before we arrived. Try to plan ahead!
  • Mr Ian Thompson 23/09/2022
    My wife and I walked from Fort William to Inverness over 8 days (7 days' walking + 8 nights' accommodation) and what a trip. The weather was wonderful, i.e. quite a lot of sun, but not too hot and our hosts and those we met on the way were very friendly and helpful. There were no accommodation / pickup mishaps so thank you Macs Adventures for organising everything so efficiently. We did have one problem when we took a wrong turn and ended up walking about 5 miles along the A82 towards Urquhart Castle but this was entirely our fault. The footpath signs were slightly misleading, due to logging activities, just before Grotaig, but these things happen. Overall, a great walk that I would highly recommend to anyone who is reasonably fit, especially those who opt for the high routes where the views are stunning.
  • Anonymous 23/09/2022
    Extremely helpful and a good background knowledge.
  • Dr. Chris Dow 22/09/2022
    All the accommodation was good, including some very memorable stays (e.g. Kingshouse Hotel). The route was easily to follow and the Macs App almost completely removed any need for other maps or navigation. Luggage transfer was seamless.
  • Mr Erin Burns-Flett 21/09/2022
    My husband and I booked our Highlands and Skye rail/hiking tour a year before COVID arrived. Our trip was postponed twice, and MacsAdventure retained our deposit and was in continuous contact with me during the delays. When we were finally committed to our trip, MacAdventure was very diligent answering all our questions promptly. Equally, they were prompt at sharing updates with respect to changes in some transportation services. Our accommodations were wonderful as were the hosts. Our itinerary was well thought out and detailed - this particular adventure included walking, trains, ferries and buses. This was our second booking with MacsAdventure and I will book with them again and have recommended Macs to friends and family.
  • Miss Eileen Biermann 20/09/2022
    Gute Betreuung, nette Mitarbeiter, schnelle Antwort
  • Anonymous 19/09/2022
    The trip was arranged quite quickly for us, nearly a year ago. Macs was very responsive (even if there were short delays sometimes) to questions. Accommodations were very good, and baggage transport was seamless. Communication was also very thorough.

OVERALL SCORE

4.5
User745 Total
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1

Tour Reviews

Evan

"Macs Adventure is a stellar tour organiser. We had a terrific experience with them from start to finish - from the first moment we requested information, to our flight home, Macs was helpful, professional, and really made sure we had a great time. They even helped us get through a tough time where our luggage from our flight was delayed for five days! Everything you could want from a tour operator - personalised, friendly service; timely and complete information; no snags in any bookings; and great value for what you get. Macs Adventure gets my strongest recommendation!"

See Evan's review, plus many more, on the Tour du Mont Blanc in Comfort.

Emily & Chris

"We love hiking and have done a lot of backpacking here in the US. We also enjoy immersing ourselves into cultural experiences. This adventure on the West Highland Way in celebration of our 10th anniversary combined the best of all these interests. Macs Adventures curated this memorable experience and the execution was seamless. We'll cherish every memory!"

See Emily & Chris' review, plus 100s more, on the West Highland Way tour page.

Currency:
$ - USD - US Dollar
Country/Region name:
USAUSA