Peace of Mind Guarantee: No change fees, & free cancellation due to Covid-19. Find out more>

 

Macs Adventure Reviews, Feedback, and Photos!

We always ask for feedback which can be found on our tour pages to help you decide which tour to choose and what to expect. Service reviews are also available on Feefo, the global and independent feedback engine.

Reviews & Feedback

"For us, the best part about creating great adventures is hearing all about them afterwards. Your feedback is so important as it allows us to better understand the trips from your perspective, to continuously improve our service and to give other travelers a taste of the itineraries. Most importantly, it allows us to share the experience with you, our customers, so thank you all and please continue to share your thoughts, ideas, pictures and stories with us!"

Erin Pattie - Customer Experience Manager

  • Mr Alexander CUTHBERT 21/06/2021
    Very efficient and helpful as usual. We have done Macs Adventure's walks on several occasions over a number of years and have always found their agents very responsive.
  • Anonymous 21/06/2021
    Efficient planning & delivery; answer emails quickly, fiendly service
  • Mr Steve Taylor 21/06/2021
    Minor problems were ironed out promptly. Practical arrangements of baggage transfer and bed booking went very well. I would recommend Macs.
  • Professor John Williams 21/06/2021
    The trip was well organised and progressed without hitch. There could have been a bit more help in organising access to the walk. The accommodation was very good especially at Kinglochleven - they could not have been more helpful (in contrast to Kinghouse Hotel in Glencoe) App is good but would be even better if miles completed was recorded
  • Anonymous 21/06/2021
    The arrangements were all as planned and there were no serious problems presented. The only two comments to make were the second day was a long day walking between night time stays and we had to request a bed change because they had not given a twin bedded room. Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.
  • Mrs Patricia Crosbie 21/06/2021
    Well organised. Good choice of accommodation. Very helpful staff. I have used Macs before and would used them again.
  • Mrs Sandra Mitchell 21/06/2021
    Service was non exists t. There was no contact from Mac Adventures for the entire trip. No meet and greet. No hi how’s it going. When I complained about my first accommodation I felt it was not taken seriously. I will definitely do the West Highland Way again but I will not use Mac Adventures
  • Anonymous 20/06/2021
    Very well organised and accommodation was of a good standard
  • Mr George Rigby 20/06/2021
    Two minor problems out of office hours were rectified Macs staff immediately. The problems were not caused by Macs but by their suppliers. It's good to know Macs "have your back".
  • Mick 20/06/2021
    All went as it should, according to plan and without a hitch The accommodation was great, some a little better than others, but all to a good standard. Luggage was always at accomodation before we were a welcome site after a day's walking All in all a fantastic holiday! A big Thank You to Macs Adventures!!!!
  • Anonymous 20/06/2021
    Excellent as always! Totally reliable.
  • Anonymous 19/06/2021
    Great trip, but I had to chase travel docs prior to departure. Accom and baggage transfer were good.
  • Mr Jonathan Smith 18/06/2021
    Hi start to finish took all the Organization out of my hands into theirs and all I had to do was turn up. Will definitely use them again and recommend to my friends.
  • Miss Hayley Middleton 18/06/2021
    We were really impressed with the organisation of the trip and when we did come across any issues or problems Macs were always readily available to answer the queries and sort out the problems! Would definitely use them again! Thank you the Macs Team **
  • Anonymous 18/06/2021
    Macs adventure booked us a lovely series of places to stay and were very efficient. The instructions for the walk were really good. In short everything was really stress-free. I cannot recommend them more highly.
  • Mrs Clare Wight 18/06/2021
    Every hotel we were booked in was exceptionally friendly, helpful and clean with close proximity to where we wanted and needed to be. Breakfasts at each were also excellent. All good choices, thanks to Macs knowledge and relationships in the area. The suggested routes were excellent with realistic timescales to complete those walks and good guidance on how tough they would be. Our luggage arrived on time every evening too which was a relief after a long day. Thoroughly enjoyable holiday and we would definitely use Macs Adventure again. Indeed, we're already planning our next trip.
  • Anonymous 17/06/2021
    Everybody we talked to at macs to get the thing set up was extraordinarily helpful and generous with their time. The trip turned out to be very much as advertised, and we really enjoyed ourselves. My only suggestions for improvement are as follows. First, it might be helpful to describe to potential hikers the varied levels of civilization that exist along the trail. Some of it is quite suburban, which might surprise people who assumed they would be in a rural setting all of the time. Second, there is part of the trail that was unavailable due to erosion of the coast. Although it might be possible for some hikers to do that walk, if the tide is extremely low, my sense is that it is basically not going to be available to almost anyone. If that is the case, it would be useful to disclose that in advance.
  • Anonymous 17/06/2021
    Well organised, good hotels used.
  • Mr Stephen Slater 17/06/2021
    I liked the challenge of completing the route. Also doing a reasonably long walk where most of the Macs UK walks are only a few days. The downside of this being routed to go coast to coast was that while parts of it had brilliant scenery passing through national parks, in between were several days of walking through less interesting flat fields. Macs arrange mostly good accommodation choices but were poor providing information. They only provided a map for half the route saying, “we were not able to get the map for the west section in time”, even though the map was easily available online for next day delivery and they’d had weeks to get it. They sent a guidebook that arrived just before I left by which time I’d already purchased one myself to read before going. Some distances on their own notes were off by several km. On other trips, the bag for luggage transfer had to be left by 10:00am and Macs provided them with a list of where to take it. For this trip Macs chose Sherpa Van who required the bag left by 8:30am, which even using the earliest breakfast times at the B&Bs usually meant packing shoes and toiletries before breakfast. Also, they require you to remember to write the next stop on the luggage tag every day, and what happens if you forget?
  • Mr Andrew Wyles 17/06/2021
    What a great holiday walking the West Highland Way. Superbly organised by Macs. We would do it again tomorrow. Only gripe was that would have preferred the excellent book they supplied to have arrived earlier to aid preparation.

OVERALL SCORE

4.5
User226 Total
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1

Tour Reviews

Evan

"Macs Adventure is a stellar tour organiser. We had a terrific experience with them from start to finish - from the first moment we requested information, to our flight home, Macs was helpful, professional, and really made sure we had a great time. They even helped us get through a tough time where our luggage from our flight was delayed for five days! Everything you could want from a tour operator - personalised, friendly service; timely and complete information; no snags in any bookings; and great value for what you get. Macs Adventure gets my strongest recommendation!"

See Evan's review, plus many more, on the Tour du Mont Blanc in Comfort.

Emily & Chris

"We love hiking and have done a lot of backpacking here in the US. We also enjoy immersing ourselves into cultural experiences. This adventure on the West Highland Way in celebration of our 10th anniversary combined the best of all these interests. Macs Adventures curated this memorable experience and the execution was seamless. We'll cherish every memory!"

See Emily & Chris' review, plus 100s more, on the West Highland Way tour page.