Macs Adventure Reviews, Feedback, and Photos!

We always ask for feedback which can be found on our tour pages to help you decide which tour to choose and what to expect. Service reviews are also available on Feefo, the global and independent feedback engine.

CMS info Image

Reviews & Feedback

"For us, the best part about creating great adventures is hearing all about them afterwards. Your feedback is so important as it allows us to better understand the trips from your perspective, to continuously improve our service and to give other travelers a taste of the itineraries. Most importantly, it allows us to share the experience with you, our customers, so thank you all and please continue to share your thoughts, ideas, pictures and stories with us!"

Erin Pattie - Customer Experience Manager

  • Sally Bersot 11/01/2020
    Terrific maps and offline gps map. Wow accommodations.
  • Anonymous 03/01/2020
    All went smoothly with good hotels and great bikes. Would have liked a more detailed map to cross reference with the GPS most days. We would definitely use Macs Adventures again.
  • Truda Money 20/12/2019
    An excellent itinerary -varied, interesting and strenuous. Places to stay - we appreciated apartment facilities and found the various stop overs all very different, each with their own positives.
  • Anonymous 19/12/2019
    Macs did an amazing job of organizing a memorable trip for us. Their itinerary allowed us to see much of New Zealand's amazing beauty and they worked with me to add in a couple of days so I could take in things that were important to me (such as visiting Hobbiton!) Jess responded quickly if I had any questions or needed things adjusted. The accommodations selected for us were outstanding and we were continually impressed. Macs suggested hikes in each area which were often the most popular (and crowded) and sometimes extremely challenging hikes. We often deferred to the recommendations of our innkeepers or the visitor center rangers to opt for several smaller and equally beautiful hikes in the area that allowed us less crowded environments and more reasonably challenging hikes without leaving us exhausted.
  • Anonymous 16/12/2019
    The service received from Macs Adventures and the Tee Travel was excellent. Hotels were wonderful and the transfer of luggage was excellent. Always on time. One thing I would change is to choose hotels closer to the downtown area rather than so far. Also, being that I went during offseason some hotels did not have their restaurants open. This would have been good to know before agreeing to that particular hotel. And at least 2 hotels did not have an elevator, making it difficult to take luggage up and down the stairs after a long walk.
  • Anonymous 08/12/2019
    Our trip pn the TMB was great! it was the perfect combination of organized and self-guided! Everything went smoothly and when we had questions it was easy to contact the Mac support. Thanks for helping us have an amazing time!
  • Andrew Sturman 05/12/2019
    Each aspect was organised well once the final bookings were made, that is, accommodation, baggage transfer and contacts in Italy for assistance
  • Anonymous 01/12/2019
    Very good service. Just to improve even more, it would be good to have a choice about accommodation. Granted that sometimes there are no options, but if there are, then it would be good to say 'basic' or luxury' to guide the bookers.
  • Anita Mary Simon 18/11/2019
    The directions were outstanding (except for one minor error). The accommodations were superb. Each night was a different experience and really added to the feel of being in old-world Italy with modern conveniences. The baggage was taken care of in an efficient manner. It was always waiting for us at the next stop.
  • Anonymous 17/11/2019
    This was our 4th MacS Adventures trip. Other trips were 5 star experiences. This was disappointing for several reasons. First, Gran Canaria experienced devastating fires a few months ago. As a result, 2 of the original scheduled hikes were not passable. The substitute hikes were very disappointing. We realize that the fires were out of the control of Macs Adventures, we believe they could have provided better alternatives. Additionally the 1st and last accommodation were disappointing. While the facilities were adequate, it was often hard to find any staff to answer questions. Additionally, the dinner at the first accommodation was nearly inedible. On the positive side, the route notes were excellent and the drivers friendly and accommodating. We still are big fans of Macs Adventures, but would not recommend this trip.
  • Sarah Salt 17/11/2019
    Great holiday, well coordinated and structured and good instructions for self guided walks.
  • Lawrence Smith 16/11/2019
    This was our fourth trip with Macs Adventures and we were very happy with their service and overall attention to detail. We spent 7 days walking in Portugal in the Sintra coastal area. It was challenging in part due to some wet weather. Macs used a Portuguese guiding agency to provide orientation and GPS device to help us navigate the area. Overall the accommodations were very good. We wouldn't hesitate to use Macs again on a walking trip.
  • Alison 16/11/2019
    We stayed in lovely small "hotels" in four villages. The route notes were helpful for all our walks. We also had GPS for backup. On the unscheduled day in Montejaque, we visited the Cueva de la Pileta that was very interesting and well worth the visit. The driver, who was arranged by Macs Adventure, was excellent. He helped with transfers at the start and then the finish of our holiday.
  • Anonymous 14/11/2019
    Excellent walking holiday. Exceptional walking routes & great accomodation.
  • Anonymous 13/11/2019
    I'm a long time, multi-year user of Mac's. They are superb, and their service was impeccable. They sort out problems and are incredibly helpful. It was the Camino itself which was not quite as advertised, and here Mac's has to take some responsibility for the way it's presented. Unlike the Camino Frances, the Portuguese Coastal Way is almost entirely urban, with very little sense of being a spiritual journey. Miles of cobblestones, walking through the backs of villages - even the supposed countryside part is never out of sight of houses and civilization. The walk from Baiona to Vigo, 19 1/2 miles, was particularly awful, ending with 4 miles of trundling through a graffiti-laden, ugly modern city. If you want the real thing, walk the Frances, or perhaps try the more historic Portuguese route that doesn't go along the coast. But we love Mac's.
  • Annie Barrell 13/11/2019
    Wonderful B&Bs, very good guide book and map, efficient luggage service....what more could we ask?
  • Anonymous 13/11/2019
    Macs was fantastic. Well organized and the trip went as advertised. Our route had few options in accommodations, and some were not great, but Macs didn't have alternatives and we were lucky to have the rooms we received (other travelers could not find rooms). This was our 6th Macs Adventure, and we're planning more.
  • Anonymous 12/11/2019
    Well organized and reliable - could have had a more personal touch.
  • Tony Nilsson 12/11/2019
    All bookings and reservations were exactly as set out. All transfers well arranged and on time. Overall service was considered first class
  • Debra Beebee 12/11/2019
    Excellent. From communications and responses to requests to hotels and maps.

OVERALL SCORE

4.6
User1449 Total
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
CMS info Image

Tour Reviews

Evan

"Macs Adventure is a stellar tour organiser. We had a terrific experience with them from start to finish - from the first moment we requested information, to our flight home, Macs was helpful, professional, and really made sure we had a great time. They even helped us get through a tough time where our luggage from our flight was delayed for five days! Everything you could want from a tour operator - personalised, friendly service; timely and complete information; no snags in any bookings; and great value for what you get. Macs Adventure gets my strongest recommendation!"

See Evan's review, plus many more, on the Tour du Mont Blanc in Comfort.

Emily & Chris

"We love hiking and have done a lot of backpacking here in the US. We also enjoy immersing ourselves into cultural experiences. This adventure on the West Highland Way in celebration of our 10th anniversary combined the best of all these interests. Macs Adventures curated this memorable experience and the execution was seamless. We'll cherish every memory!"

See Emily & Chris' review, plus 100s more, on the West Highland Way tour page.